Introductions

My name is Neil.

In addition to inspiring, educating, and holding accountable, I think I started this blog as a way to reconnect to my writing and to the issues surrounding the third world. In college, I frequently got paid (in grades) to write about the economic situations of developing countries. Now that I’m graduated and trying to start a career, there’s not as much opportunity or incentive to keep up with everything that used to matter so much to me. I’m hoping that this blog will change all that.

In between high school and college, I had the opportunity to spend 1 year in Bolivia with AFS Exchange Programs. I was a volunteer with Habitat For Humanity, and lived with a Bolivian host family. Living alongside poverty and NGOs dedicated to poverty relief certainly had a profound impact on me. I now feel that my life could be used to do so much more than simply making money and being concerned only with my self and my immediate family.

Trouble is, it takes a lot of hard work and dedication to get anything done. Often, it seems like 90% of the responsibility and opportunity for development lies with the natives of a country, with outsiders lacking the insight or credibility to bring about change. As if that weren’t enough, living in the developed world has a lulling effect on even the most dedicated people – poverty, like anything else, is very much “out of sight, out of mind”. So the challenges are many…  but my experience has taught me that with great challenge comes great reward.

I’m by no means an expert in this field. However, I know some folks who are, and I know plenty of places to get interesting facts and news about development. My task, then: distill lots of information from credible sources, and present it to you in a clear and concise manner.

2 Comments

Filed under About me/about blog

2 responses to “Introductions

  1. Neil,

    Thanks. I have read Steve’s blog. He’s interesting and inspiring. I like your idea for your blog — monitoring the development in the third world is a very noble pursuit. God Bless!

  2. How are you?, Give something to help those hungry people in Africa or India,
    I created this blog about that subject:
    on http://tinyurl.com/6bz6t7

Leave a Reply

